Saturday, June 6, 2009

It's been a while, and a while has happened...

Okay, first of my apologise for three things.

1. Sorry about a delayed response. Internet was very expensive at the Sheriton...$5.95/half hour

2. No photos yet. i haven't found a computer yet that i can upload them onto.

3. Any spelling mistakes are made in the desire to write down as much as possible. plus the keyboard squeaks alot.

So last I left you i think I was still in LA at this rubbish of a hotel.

So dad was sick. had a flu. no not the swine flu. just the flu-flu. he got it from being practical and getting a flu shot to stop him from getting the flu, which gave him the flu. gargh!!
So he couldn't do much. not like theres much to do in LA anyway. let me describe for you LA.

There is no CBD. theres no place where everyone can hang (ie lee and me) theres no pitt street, george street or any thing similar. everything is spread out so you need a car to get around. but by using a car you'd be stuck in traffic for hours after hours because everyone has one to get around, which they need cause its so spread out. STUPID PEOPLE!!!!!!!!!

so i went on a tour with a crazy crazy american who i couldnt understand a word of what he said. i think he said something like LA gets 3 inches of rain a year. conveniently it rained on the tour. he said that was rare. bahaha as if. anyway...

i bought a guitar. not a guitar guitar...but a nice acoustic...mini. its so tiny and strong. its like an ant. small and mighty. its a Martin & CO. sounds good too. so my mission for LA was done after that...oh and universal studios.

i confeess im a big big skinny white kid when it comes to theme parks. after jamberoo i guess you could say i have taken a big interest intheme parks...and i tell you this, universal studios ate jamberoo up, then threw them back up, then ate them again. amazing metaphor. the entrance alone could compete with jamberoos entire shopping outlets. every ride had a souviner shop. they had the real marilon monroe...i think. hmmm...

it was nice.

So overall LA. in 5 words

Dirty.
Big.
Unfriendly.
Toursity.
Cheap/Nasty (i know thats two, but if i only did cheap, then you might think cheap in the wrong way)

oh one more thing we were forced to do valet parking. now some people might think it be nice. no it wasn't. sometimes you just want to park your car and walk to your room. instead we had to drive up to them and give them money to park our car for us. which we could have done. stupid tipping system.

So we took our hire care and drove to SF a day early. best decsion we've made all trip. we drove to a small inn called 'Sea Side Inn' very very dodgy. i thought i was entering a pyshcological thriller. i thought some killer would set his sights on me...they didn't.

we then took a drive along 'The Big Sur' a massive coastal road that went on for miles (i say miles not kms because it was measured in miles and it would be disarespectaful of the USA culture to say kms as they speant the time measuring it in miles)

there are some amazing little inns and places to stay along here. you know how people want ocean views because they're nice? well here i wouldn't be suprised if they DIDN"T want ocean views, just because the only thing these people who lived here saw, was ocean. it was almost like living on a boat, but on land.

so we arrive in SF (San Fransico) and took the B*************y car back (the car was lame). we then caught a train to Powell street where we walked to the hostel. now let me tell you this.
the hotel we stayed at in LA had no fridge, no free breakfast, no cheap internet and no option of buying your own food to save money. so the contrast between these places we stayed was so big i couldn't see the other side.

internet is so cheap now i love it. free wi-fi, laundry level 2, kitchen level 3, vending machine level 3, payphone level 4, information on live music, tours and free events lobby. it is amazing.

we have our own room with our own bathroom. soooo good.

anyway tonight we took a nice short walk down to fishermans wharf...hahah short. if short is long then it was short. it took us not long...but it was longer then we thought. which is okay. we walked around saw some cool things. profesional spray painters. saw the golden gate bridge in lights. saw pier 39. apparrantly its famous. there was nice stuff there too. got an ice cream. was freezing. i got told off for not have my ice-crea-drip-protector on. this is a small gadget that surrounds the icream cone (made of cheap disposable plastic) that captures all the dripping that tneds to happen on american ice cream cones.

now im sitting here trying to update this blog. wait i've finished. amazing. time for bed. my backs sore and my eyes are tired. have no idea how long this is. i have no idea how many mistakes. all i hope is that you can understand the gist.

well i will leavce you with one final word...





goodnight.

No comments:

Post a Comment