Wednesday, June 17, 2009

New York, New York

Well it's been a while since I last blog-ged!

Alost has happened, although I only have 14mins to explain it all.

So when I first got here I had to wait till 4.30pm from 2pm to get into my room. which was frustrating, sitting around waiting for a room. As you can imagine.

But once I was settled, at about 6pm I decided to do a twilight tour of Brooklyn which was free, only to find out it was cancelled. So I caught the subway (a big sandwhich they ride on underground) into what I thought was Rockerfeller Square. So I popped up from the whole I came from and took a look at my first glance of NYC with adult eyes.

Well the buildings are tall. Very tall. They crumple sydney. Plus theres dozens and dozens of them. Everywhere.

I just walked for about 40 blocks, down to Madison Square Garden, to see the Flat iron building. I had no idea where I was going. I was just soking it all up.

Anyway turns out i was like a block away from Times Square, Grand Central and the Empire State building on that walk, even though I didn't see them. lol

So i went back to the hostel wondering what I would do for the night (it was about 9pm now) when some guy asked me if i'd like to come to a comedy show. I was like 'Hell yeah I love IT Crowd'.

Oh man it was possibly THE worst/most awkward moment in my life. Picture this:

An American, standing up talking to 6 people, 2 don't understand any english, let alone the humour of some of it, 1 12 year old kid, 2 english girls (sitting up the back) and myself (who stupidly planted myself right up the front)

He got no laughs from us. He kept swearing. His jokes were so lame. His excuse for his lame jokes was that his usual crowd were people who could drink. So then he decided to rip on us. He started paying us out. I wanted to leave.

haha the funniest part was when 4 english guys (about 20 years old) came down and sat together and starting making jokes about guy up stage.

Now i'm not mean or anything...he just really sucked. one of his jokes went like this:

'I think parents should be able to have the right to have an abortion right up until the kids are teenagers. Right? so like when one of their kids comes home with a tatoo...*makes a gun with his fingers*...BANG! Problem solved right?'

No one laughed at that. haha. Then he said 'F*** it' and walked off stage. hahahaha LAMECORE!!!!!!!

Anyway so the next day I got up at 11am. Yeah sleep in. it was awesome. so I then went out with Ang from Jamberoo. We had a sick day. Just check my facebook pictures. She's uploaded some.

we walked through Central park, then down to madison square garden: 60 blocks. 3.5miles

then in the nightime i met the coolest Brits you could ever imagine. they had the best accents (alot better then the americans we agreed) we got along one of them invited me to stay with them in England. SWEET!)

So I got one of there numbers to call the following day (today) only to find out (today) that the no. doesnt work. So im stranded in the hostel while they're roaming NYC. it is a sad night for me. :(

oh well maybe I'll meet some more new people...for some reason we get along better with the brits.

BYE

2 comments:

  1. lol now you're talking in miles!

    ReplyDelete
  2. hehe that stand up guy sounds lame. Maybe he just needed a friend :P sounds like you're going well Jackie boy, awesome to hear about free accommodation in England, woohoo!

    ReplyDelete